24
Jun
08

I am George Lucas’ bitch

So, while dealing with my bout of insomnia last night, I turned to my sure-fire sleep getter: Star Wars.

Now, it’s not that I feel Star Wars is a hideous movie. Quite the contrary, I love it, despite all of its flaws. But after seeing it so many times, it has become like a warm glass of milk … comforting … so much so that I’m usually out cold before Vader snaps the neck of the first rebel.

But last night, that didn’t happen. And here’s why:

PS3 Blu-Ray upconversion and the LCD TV. Oh. My. God. The colors were simply gorgeous. I was seeing new details; like the fact that the droids were all scuffed up on the rebel ship … Stormtroopers’ armor was also all scuffed up … and I believe that C3P0’s right leg, at the knee and down, is more of a white gold than the rest of him. And the reflections of Tatooine’s  landscape on his body — it was just, wow. I sat like I was 8 years old, watching it for the first time. I started to notice things in the background, like the Stormies harassing their rebel captives in the neck-snapping scene. And it was crystal clear.

It still managed to put me to sleep (it was, afterall, almost 5am), but now I’m completely stoked to re-watch it, “Empire” and “Jedi” during my upcoming days off. I want to see what those Ugnauts are doing in the background in Cloud City. And I’m sure the speederbike chases on Endor will rock soxs. Boba Fett, I’m sure, is so completely bad ass in HD that I won’t even be fit to sit in the same room as his image. It even made me so curious that I’m thinking about buying “Clones,” because I’m sure the lightsaber fights are just amazing in HD. (However, I somehow doubt that even HD goodness will get me to buy “Phantom” — I hate the Gungans THAT much.)

And then, the inevitable thought hit me: “I’m going to have to buy the Blu-Ray versions of these.”

Oh sure, it’s not enough that I have the originals on tape. And the Special Edition on tape. And the boxed set on DVD. No, now I’ll have to repurchase the Blu-Ray versions. And I’m sure I will rebuy on whatever funky new and improved system comes out afterwards.

Damn you, George Lucas. Why can’t I quit you?

3 Responses to “I am George Lucas’ bitch”


  1. November 19, 2008 at 2:11 am

    Amen, Reverend! Lucas himself foretold of this: “Once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominant your will.”

  2. November 19, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    The vicious cycle of the Re-re-re-release. Yet we Star Wars fans keep turning out in droves. I will now have to check out the Boxed set DVDs on my PS3 Blu-Ray as your write-up has me very intrigued.

    As far as good sleeping movies, The Fellowship of the Ring and Braveheart are also on my list.

  3. 3 Three
    November 19, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    I just saw another DVD re re release the other day at Sam’s Club — the had the original 3 and then the prequels. I was half tempted on the prequels, but then I backed away slowly. I just never need to see Phantom Menace or any Gungans ever again.

    Any of the Hobbit movies are great insomnia flicks. Braveheart is definitely another. Heck, for awhile there, I was falling asleep to Starship Troopers.

    And yet, if there was a chick flick on, I’d rather turn it off than try and fall asleep to it…


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,981 hits

