11
Dec
08

The great Santa debate

So, I was reading Burghbaby’s blog today, and in it contains the great Santa debate: Does Santa wrap gifts?

Now, to be fair, I’ve never heard of Santa NOT wrapping gifts until this year. It was when long-time friend Greg and I were talking over a few beers, and he mentioned that his wife didn’t want to wrap gifts from Santa. Now, Greg is generally pretty easy going — he’s always willing to discuss. But on this, he put his foot down and said, “Santa wraps gifts.” So, to see this going on in yet another forum, between husband and wife, was a little disturbing. I mean, I thought not wrapping would be … well … wrong.

But apparently there are some who are just as vehement about the “not wrapping gifts” thing as I am for it. It seems as controversial as Roe v. Wade, but according to BB’s informal poll, it’s like 3/4 pro-gift wrapping — but that doesn’t keep those no-wrappers from staunchly holding on to their beliefs.

For me, the fun part of Christmas is not knowing what you’re getting. The surprise, the anticipation, the wonder if you’ve actually been good enough to get presents from Santa … and if so, what level of gift you were going to get. In my mind, to dive into Christmas gifts that weren’t wrapped would be kinda anti-climactic. “Oh, let’s see … sweaters, socks, pants … cool, ‘Space Invaders’ … hey, what did you get?”

And even when I was older and we went to Grandma’s with the nephews, one of our favorite things came after all the gifts were open. We would look at the pile of wrappings sitting in the middle of the floor, and the adults knew what was coming next. When the nephews weren’t looking (or engaged by a sinister adult) … grandma would grab a bunch of torn paper and throw it like leaves on them, and then the fight was on. Everyone was throwing paper at each other, laughing their faces off. After about 5 minues, everyone would calm down and start picking bows out of their hair or off their backs. She used to do this with my sister and I too, but seeing the excitement in my nephews eyes was a completely different experience — it’s when you learn the gifts didn’t matter, but the fun at grandma’s did.

Not wrapping is not an option in my world. And it shouldn’t be in yours. But in the vague interest in science, I’d like to get your opinion:


10 Responses to “The great Santa debate”


  1. December 12, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Wrapped all the way. This should not even be up for debate. Just think of the emotional scarring that results from children knowing that Santa did not take the time to wrap their present while little Jimmy down the street had his Playstation 3 wrapped in proprietary North Pole Paper. Unbelievable. The world most know of this crime!

  2. 2 Three
    December 12, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I’m of the opinion that non-wrappers are in league with the devil. I mean, you go to the Christmas tree on Christmas Day and find a pile of stuff for you. Woo. Way to make the magic last.

  3. December 12, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Perhaps it is the non-wrappers who bear the mark of the beast.

  4. December 13, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Wrapping is the best part! Cousin and I get smashed every Christmas eve and wrap all of jr’s gifts. I couldn’t imagine NOT doing it.

  5. 5 Three
    December 13, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    ROFL! Great idea, Mindbling!

  6. 6 Sly Reference
    December 13, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    I guess the Easter Bunny just leaves the eggs out in the open and the Tooth Fairy just “gives the money to mom for safe keeping.” Jeez. It’s hard enough keeping up the mystique when Santa has to get name brand gifts without getting slapped with copyright infringement suits.

    Wrap, wrap, wrap.

  7. 7 Jae
    December 16, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I had a friend who grew up with Santa not wrapping… what’s the fun in that? Besides, that’d be sensory overload with seeing ALL the new toys at once.

    Santa always wrapped everything in layers of tissue paper at my house. Probably because one year I asked why Santa and Mommy had used the same paper. 😛

  8. December 17, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I’m like you and had NOOO clue that there was this sort of debate about the issue. My husband is still sulking that he lost, but that’s what he gets for agreeing that a poll would decide who got their way. I just can’t imagine not wrapping. I mean, I can see not wrapping a bike or a car, but Alexis is smoking crack if she thinks Santa is bringing her that kind of loot.

  9. 9 Pam
    December 20, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    While growing up (many many many years ago!),
    I remember some gifts being under the tree not wrapped. ~And child protective services never took us away. Of course their were others all wrapped, but that was part of the excitement. . .seeing toys before we even got to the tree!

  10. 10 Three
    December 20, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Well, nowadays, I’m kind of surprised that CYS DOESN’T haul off kids if parents don’t wrap gifts. Hmmm. Maybe I should give it a shot and start narcing out some of these folks …. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,977 hits

