15
Dec
08

Dreamgirls

My dreams are often excessively weird (I know, shocking, right?), and often very vivid. I mean, there are sometimes when I wake up and it takes me a couple of minutes to figure out what is reality and what was the dream. But as realistically wacky as they can be, it’s actually pretty rare for me to dream about people.

Not to say that there are no people in my dreams. There are plenty of them. But 90 percent of the time, they are no one that I know. Except for recently.

In the past week, I’ve had 3 familiar faces pop up in my dreams: Newgirl, Laura San Giacomo and Purplecar.

Now, when people that I do know pop up into my dreams, I always think there’s some Jungian archetype mindplay going on (ie, it’s not so much the people themselves that are important, but what they represent to me).

Dream1: The first dream involved Newgirl. Newgirl is someone who I’m just starting to get to know, hence her title. She’s sparked some curiousity, but we haven’t had the opportunity to talk much. But in this dream, she and I were walking down Melwood Avenue in Oakland to my old apartment (what a hellpit of despair … LOL). We were laughing and joking around (and yes, I was college-aged again and had my shrubbish long hair going on). All of the sudden, she turned, and she was missing like 5 teeth. I instantly jumped back in one serious “WTF!” move. It startled me so much that I pulled myself out of the dream into a waking state (yeah, I can do that … it’s like an “ejection sequence” for dreams that get too vivid).

Interpretation: Newgirl makes me feel like a kid again (for good or bad). However, why the tooth-loss thing was so unnerving, I don’t know. But the ejection sequence means whatever it is, it’s a bit too intense for me.

Oh, THATS why she was in my dream...

Oh wait, there's 2 very good reasons why she was in my dream...

Dream 2: I’ve never met Laura San Giacomo, nor do I really remember any movies that she was in. (I saw “Sex, Lies and Videotapes” back in college, but was mighty disappointed when it didn’t seem to contain any of the three.) But I do remember her from “Just Shoot Me,” which starred David Spade — but haven’t seen that show in a dog’s age. So why she popped up in a dream is mighty odd. OK, I’ll admit, it was a saucy dream (which was interrupted by some stupid noise from “Aeon Flux” — I fell asleep watching TV) — but that makes it even more puzzling. I mean, when I go through the list of hot celebrity women that I should be dreaming about, she doesn’t come up. (However, when I did a google search to find the pic, the second “fill out the line” choice about LSG is “Laura San Giacomo’s rack,” which apparently draws much interest.) But the more I thought about it, the more it did make sense: Her character on “Just Shoot Me” is the kind of woman I like — natural, brainy and busty. And I also dig brunettes, which just adds to it.

Interpretation: I needs to find me someone that I actually dig. Wink wink, nudge nudge, know what I mean, say no more, say no more!

Dream 3: Purplecar was in the dream last night. Now, she and I have been friends for a looooong time (freshman year of college, to be exact). We lost touch, but have found each other recently and are getting to know each other all over again. She’s big into the social media stuff, while I’m a newb. So, in this dream, I was out in Philly (where Purple lives), working in some large building. It was obvious I was new to my job, as some person kept showing me how to do things of a clerical nature. Purple was in the office across the hall, typing away on an old typewriter (how primitive!). It was the end of the day, and I was looking to leave. I started walking out the door when I realized that I hadn’t said good-bye to Purple, let alone asked her which bus I needed to take to get home. But by the time I got back to her office, she had already taken off — all I saw was her outside heading (with a slew of other people) off to her bus.

Interpretation: Get off your duff and read that stuff that Purple sent you, or you’re going to miss the bus!

Who says dreams are meaningless? LOL!

11 Responses to “Dreamgirls”


  1. December 15, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    LOL! dude you don’t have to read it I don’t care. Jesus don’t stress yourself!

    that’s like “irony me” typing on an old typewriter. That part in particular spooks me out.

    Not the part where I left you in the dust. That’s just par for the course, huh?

    I’ve always loved you tho, u know that. 🙂

  2. 2 Three
    December 15, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    No no no, it’s not a matter of stressing myself. It’s more a matter of “She’s right there to pick her brain on all this social media stuff, so get to it before you’re left behind.”

    And I had the distinct impression you were “leaving” because you thought I was good to go, and had already left.

  3. 3 Sly Reference
    December 16, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I’m just shocked that you thought these were weird dreams.

  4. December 16, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I think the Laura San Giacomo thing had something to do with perhaps seeing someone with big bushy eyebrows earlier in the day. I mean I like her nugs and her face is kinda cute sometimes but Jesus. Brook Fields makes fun of them caterpillars.

  5. December 16, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Thanks… you made me go look this up!

  6. December 16, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Laura San Giacomo was also in Pretty Woman, so, it’s very obvs. to me that you were with a hooker prior to falling asleep.

    Dreams about teeth falling out are related to money, so, it’s very obvs. to me that newgirl is also code for hooker, and maybe you were afraid you couldn’t pay her.

    Basically, stop hanging out with hookers.

  7. December 16, 2008 at 6:16 pm

  8. 8 Three
    December 16, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Dear God, you people are cracking me up.

    Maybe I’m feeling guilty over that whole incident back in ’96, where Snuggles and I got that hooker, but when I came back from taking a piss, he was coated in blood and said, “Dude, we gotta ditch this body or we’re both going down.”

    And Hammer … the comments are spot on, but man, somehow I’m just flat-out disturbed by that pic. Nowhere near what I saw in my dream, I swear!

  9. December 17, 2008 at 11:18 am

    You know if you can just over her face long enough…

  10. 10 Three
    December 17, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    See, actually, I don’t mind her face in the “Just Shoot Me” series (when I can be bothered to look up), but that movie still — the shadows, the bad hair — it’s like having David Letterman’s head on a body with a pretty damn spifftacular rack.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,981 hits

