14
Jan
09

Ain't that a kick in the nuts

Today, the economy has finally caught up to my workplace. Voluntary severance packages were offered.

You know, right now, I feel like I’m that clueless guy who, when a murder hits his neighborhood, stares directly into the TV camera and says, “You hear about this stuff all the time, but I never thought it would happen here.”

And yet, here I am, staring directly into the camera, talking.

It’s not like I didn’t see this coming. Hell, if I would have had 2 more years into the place, I would be cheering because I would be the guy volunteering to take the hit. But, alas, I don’t, and therefore have no cause to celebrate. I don’t know if anyone will take the offer in my department (we’re hideously short-staffed as is), but obviously things have changed and it’s time to act as though my time there is excessively limited, even if it’s not.

Let’s just hope my nuts remain intact long enough to find another job before the big wigs opt to deal out some involuntary cuts.

Life. It's a contact sport. Bring a cup.

5 Responses to “Ain't that a kick in the nuts”


  1. 1 petulantrose
    January 14, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Man I feel really lucky to have got the job I managed to find. Not only did I find it during a recession but I got mine in a department that is flourishing at this point and not suffering. So far since I’ve been here they’ve laid off about 20 people upstairs in the sales department. Good luck.

  2. January 14, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Now you have something in common with all the steel workers. You know the whole industry you work in is about to crumble and/or fundamentally change in a very drastic way. The big thing is, most of them didn’t act until after they were fired.

    Get your ass on the phone with every recruiter you can find.

  3. January 14, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    i love me some Bloom County.

    the VP i report to got laid off as we’re a 70 person company and cant afford VP’s who manage only. so, iget called in and asked to assume his responsibilities….while i’m still doing my own. it’s sold as this huge promotion, without the title for the moment….and i see it as a shit sandwich.

    dude, i’m going to link you so i don’t forget to stop over.

  4. January 16, 2009 at 11:03 am

    So terrible. I hope you find something you enjoy doing, just in case, and you can call it a blessing in disguise.

    Even though it really sucks.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,099 hits

