29
Jan
09

Ice ice baby

So, a Facebook comment reminded me of this: who all remembers the “Ice” craze in beer back in the late ’80s/early ’90s?

I mean, I really only drank Molson Ice, Icehouse, or Bud Ice (I was young, I needed the money! Don’t judge me!), but it seemed that every beer brand had an “ice”-style offshoot. I’m thinking there was even a Milwaukee’s Best Ice — I can’t confirm that — but man, I sure as hell wouldn’t be surprised.

So what was up with that whole ice-mania thing, anyway? Was it allegedly “cold filtered” or something? And can you find any of it still around today? I know if I see some Molson Ice, I’m gonna have to pick it up for pure nostalgia purposes.

Ah, trends. So funny to see them come and go ….

9 Responses to “Ice ice baby”


  1. 1 Sly Reference
    January 29, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Do you remember the “dry” beers, too?

  2. 2 Three
    January 29, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Wow, that’s right! I think I drank an awful lot of Bud Dry back then…but that was only when I “had the money” to afford it. LOL!

  3. January 30, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I nearly broke my ankle over Bud Ice once. I was racing down the stairwell to try to convince a roommate that we should get bottles instead of cans. I caught the tip of my shoe on a step and twisted it badly. Not only did I have to walk around on crutches for two weeks (including a trip on a Greyhound bus to attend my Grandpa Steele’s funeral), I had to drink Bud Ice out of cans.

  4. January 30, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Actually… now that I think of it. I think it was Bud Dry.

  5. January 31, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I don’t understand either. “Dry” does not sound appetizing, and one cannot drink ice.

  6. February 2, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I guess you forgot all about the red beer craze too?

    Killians Red, Red Dog, Red Wolf (follow your instincts), Sam Adams Irish Red…

  7. February 12, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Confirmed!

    http://40ouncebeer.com/40/mbestice.html


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,981 hits

