02
Feb
09

A tip of the hat

Well, I know I’m going to be like every other ‘burgh blogger by talking about the Steelers and the Super Bowl, but it’s gotta be done. But hopefully, mine will be a little shorter than most. (LOL — probably not.)

1) The Cardinals: I gotta admit, I was absolutely wrong about this team. I had been hearing from a lot more “well-versed” football fans about the Cards, about how they would fold, about how they wouldn’t be able to compete against the Steelers. They sure as hell proved everyone wrong. And while they didn’t get the victory, I think we saw the beginnings of a franchise turnaround. If Whisenhunt and Co. keep using that same formula that they learned from the Rooneys and the Steelers, they have the potential to go really far. They’ve completely earned my respect, and (hopefully) have shed their laughingstock image once and for all.

And Larry Fitzgerald, you’re a monster. It was great watching/cheering for you at Pitt; it was painful to watch my boys play against you. But hopefully your “Pittsburgh-style” (letting your play speak for you) will inspire more great players to do the same.

Oh, and one last thing: Fans and coaches — don’t go the crybaby Mike Holmgren route and start crying about bad calls or anything. Take the loss as men, and let the bitterness of it fuel your play next year. And when you do eventually earn that trophy, it’s gonna feel unbelieveable. Any Steelers fan can tell you that.

2) Mike Tomlin: I owe you an apology. From the time you got here, I was second-guessing the Rooneys on their decision. “From the Vikings? Dear God!” That’s what I thought. The Vikings always equaled “mediocrity” to me, and I couldn’t understand why they would pick you over Whiz or Grimm. But you’ve proven yourself, and your speech after the win was fantastic and absolutely true — “We play for each other, we play 60 minutes. It isn’t always pretty, and throw style points out the window.” But it works. I wish you a long, successful reign as the head coach.

3) Santonio: Way to rebound, man. You had a rough year with that whole possession charge, but you came through when you needed to. Frickin’ A. It takes a lot of character to admit to your problems, and a lot of strength to reach the level that you have. I hope you’ve found a home here and keep yourself on the straight and narrow. Regardless of the future, that catch will always be remembered, and showed everyone what you are capable of. Fan-fucking-tastic.

4) Harrision: You’re a beast, and that interception was absolutely fantastic. You’re gonna be immortalized in Steelers history, no doubt. But unfortunately, everyone’s gonna remember your blocking and punching the guy on the ground, too. Oh well, I don’t care. You deserve that phat-ass contract that will be presented to you, and I sincerely hope that you accept it.

5) The team: You guys made me so happy and proud to be a Steelers fan. It’s not always easy to watch you guys — sometimes I swear you do things the hard way just to generate business for the area hospitals by creating heart failure in your fans. But you guys play hard, and I never question your effort. Thank you for bringing home No. 6 to the ‘burgh.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m drained. What a freakin’ game.

2 Responses to “A tip of the hat”


  1. February 2, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I can’t believe Harrison went from “My god that man is awesome” to “What is he fucking thinking?” in just 2 quarters… I know it’s an emotional game, but that sort of idiocy isn’t in the makeup of a great player.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

  • @Linebacker_U what, so you can buy more PSU swag? Pfffft. Maybe I'll buy lawn balls and throw them at politicians instead. 11 minutes ago
  • Recent #GOP action ended any chance of me voting for them ever again, but ending #NetNeutrality means I start contributing to Dem campaigns. 31 minutes ago
  • I don't know about the rest of you, but I sleep SO WELL when it snows cause everyone panics and it's so quiet out... 1 hour ago
  • Do parents often do imitations of their kids cause I'd love to hear them... 4 hours ago
  • Coworker is busting on his 13 year old son and I'm in tears laughing. 4 hours ago

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,119 hits

