17
Feb
09

New perspective

So, one of my “resolutions” this year has been the setting up a room to be my “geekatorium.” This is where I would proudly display all things nerd oriented, while trying to restore the rest of my 1919 house to its “classic” feel while modernizing it. In other words, repaint, do stuff to accent the cherry wood and brass fixtures, etc.

Well, I originally planned the Geekatorium for my smallest upstairs room. Unfortunately, that room had the absolute ugliest old lady wallpaper in it, which I stripped. Also unfortunately, there’s an assload of adhesive attached to the original plaster walls (that I’m trying to keep), which means I’m gonna be taking sandpaper to them, which also means that this project has turned into a major pain in the ass.

The joy of home ownership.

I have another big room upstairs that I’ve been using for my guest room. But I started thinking that I should just make that my Geekatorium, since that’s where I’m likely to spend a lot of time. I mean, really, how many guests do I have? (The answer is “not many.”)

So, I set up a wireless network in the house, got a wireless card for the computer and moved it upstairs.

Holy balls. That’s all I can say. It made a HUGE difference. Before, I had my computer and peripherals all smashed on to my enclosed porch. The desk itself went from wall to wall, which made access to the back of the comp a complete pain in the ass. I had blank CDs everywhere, project stuff everywhere — everything was just a mess. I had my framed Star Wars movie posters (the kind that the theater shines light through) and a framed Army of Darkness one stuffed into an upstairs closet. The rest of my nerdities were just scattered throughout the house. Tribbles from Steele’s wedding on the desk, Jay and Silent Bob bobbleheads on a shelf, the cheesy Viking nutcracker on the fireplace mantle, old computer husks by the TV — you get the idea.

Now I have a closet to throw all my crap into. I have easy access to the

Even a Star Wars Special Edition cube from BK...my nerdom knows no shame.

Even a Star Wars Special Edition cube from BK ... my nerdom knows no shame.

computer. It feels like everything is coming together and I’m pretty excited about it. Why I didn’t do this ages ago is simply beyond me.

But this all had an unexpected side effect — I started reorganizing my living room/enclosed porch area. I’m moving everything around, creating more space and giving the house (and my mind) a less cluttered feel. And I know it’s going to spread. I want to reorganize my kitchen, my dining room — even my blog categories.

I’m even reading up on how to stain/paint furniture. (I always thought that staining furniture mean you spilled model pain on it, or left a glass of pop on it too long.) There’s even videos on how to do this stuff — I found this one on staining wood furniture. (That Grace Denoncourt is a girl with huuuuuuge … talents.) My furniture is pretty much a mish-mash of stuff that I’ve bought over the years — and once I stain my old computer desk and video racks, my stuff will be matching for the first time in … well … ever. (Before you bomb me on not buying matching sets of furniture, let me point out 2 things: 1) That shit’s expensive. 2) As a male, should I get married or live in sin, my furniture would instantly be sacrificed to Goodwill while the female’s furniture would stay. There is no question in my mind about this. So, my attitude has always been “Why bother?”)

Of course, this has left little time for blogging, and catching up on blogs that I normally read. So bear with me, I will return to blogging more frequently in the near future. But for now, I figure I can at least show you guys what I’m up to.

Here’s some more Geekatorium stuff. This is just the humble beginning. I still need to patch, paint, install a ceiling fan, stain and move the computer desk upstairs … you get the idea.

From the outside...

From the outside...

The closet of ancient mysteries (or rather, ancient technologies)

The closet of ancient mysteries (or rather, "ancient technologies")

The planned decor

The planned decor

How you know this is the Geekatorium...

How you know this is the Geekatorium...

9 Responses to “New perspective”


  1. 1 Sly Reference
    February 17, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Hah. So I wasn’t the only one to enjoy Starship Troopers. People rag on that movie like it’s Phantom Menace. I say they just don’t get it.

  2. 2 funkyskull
    February 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I love refinishing furniture! Last year, I sanded and re-stained a pretty cheap piece of furniture to match my dining room table, and even I was impressed with how well it turned out.

    If you’re looking for some furniture refinishing company (or want to use my palm sander), just let me know. You know I keep weird hours like you.

  3. 3 Sly Reference
    February 17, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    It was Doogie Howser, not Xander.

    And to think Phantom Menace was the most anticipated movie EVER. The original trilogy had become a legend, and changed how movies were made. They inspired countless people to rip them off.

    And then Lucas decided Phantom Menace was good enough.

  4. 4 Sly Reference
    February 17, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Shows it’s been a while since I’ve seen it.

    Clancy Brown is one of the most awesome character actors. I caught an episode of E/R a while back, and he was on it trying to hook up with the doctor with the crutch. It was weird seeing him not trying to be creepy.

  5. February 19, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I’ve done the stain/varnish thing too. If you need help, let me know.

  6. February 20, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    You know how it’s a geekatorium?

    No women.

    Oh and yeah Starship Troopers was kickass, the tempo was weird, but the overall movie was an easy 4 out of 5. I think the horrible sequels are what doomed it to the same shelf as Beastmaster and Ice Pirates.

    (Both kickass movies too!!!)


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,029 hits

