01
Mar
09

Clearing my head

It was a great night last night. Met up with the Cally girl, completed the Jam Quest (long story), had dinner and then we joined a Mardis Gras pub crawl. The night was fun, but this morning I ended up with a GINORMOUS hangover. We’re talking up at 5am watching Star Trek reruns, falling asleep, waking up at 6:15, flipping the channel to something else, falling back asleep, etc. until about 10, when I figured I needed to do something … anything … to get rid of the damned thing.

So, I opted to break out the camera and go for a little hike.

I used to hike all the time, until I hurt my ankle last year. Now, whatever this injury was, it was a doozy, because it’s always nagging me. Not enough pain to keep me from doing stuff, but certainly enough to let me know something ain’t right.

It was a beautiful day, so I opted to cruise out to Deer Lakes park. Deer Lakes is one of the neatest, yet completely under utilized, parks in Allegheny County. It has plenty of trails that are used by hikers, mountain bikers and people riding horses, stocked  man-made lakes for fishing, and a disc-golf course, among other things.

Deer Lakes Park

Deer Lakes Park

You know, I was gonna write a really in-depth blog about my day out there, about how I think a lot of Western Pennsylvanians take their parks for granted or never seem to use them (Deer Lakes is pretty much empty — except for the opening day of trout season. Today I bumped into 3 people playing disc golf and 2 guys gearing up for an mtb ride — and saw NO ONE in the woods). But, instead, I’m just gonna let my pictures tell the story, because quite honestly, I need a nap.

Geese abound.

Geese abound out there ... and I hate them. They're nasty little creatures. Walking through them on the path, some of them hissed at me. I think one called me a Mick.

Theres a deer in the dead center of the photo, and one off to the right. It aint called Deer Lakes for nothing!

There's a deer in the dead center of the photo, and one off to the right. It ain't called Deer Lakes for nothing!

I call this the moss snake because, well, it kinda looks like a giant moss snake.

I call this "the moss snake" because, well, it kinda looks like a giant moss snake.

A lot of downed trees, which will make the return to mountain biking more of a challenge.

A lot of downed trees, which will make the return to mountain biking more of a challenge.

Dont know if this was a domestic dog or a coyote track. Ive heard that they can be seen roaming around certain areas at dawn.

Don't know if this was a domestic dog or a coyote track (there were no human footprints or fresh mtb tracks anywhere along the trail except for mine). I've heard that they can be seen roaming around certain areas at dawn.

This tree has been like this for years. But I always stop to check it out, cause it looks cool.

This tree has been like this for years. But I always stop to check it out, cause it looks cool.

Im working on a theory that the obviousness of the trail is directly proportional to the number of blazes that will mark it.

I'm working on a theory that the obviousness of the trail is directly proportional to the number of blazes that will mark it.

Bear or Ewok. Hmmm. Yub yub!

Bear or Ewok. Hmmm. Yub yub!

Just a beautiful day.

Just a beautiful day.

Still a little cold outside...

Still a little cold outside...

So if you find yourself with extra time on your hands, and it’s a nice day out, break out a camera and go out for a little hike. It’s amazing what you’ll find out there.

3 Responses to “Clearing my head”


  1. March 6, 2009 at 10:35 am

    You should post this little diddy at OMGPittsburgh.com. I know I had no idea that Deer Lakes Park existed. Although, I can tell you the location of every publicly available playground within a 15-miles radius.

  2. March 7, 2009 at 6:51 am

    ewok


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,076 hits

