30
Mar
09

Separation of church and currency

The other day, I got an e-mail from a cousin of mine who is a little on the right of the political spectrum. Now, technically, I am there too, but I was on the way out with G.W./Satan ticket, and finally left after McCain/You Betcha. But, I still get mails from my concerned GOPers, who I assume are trying to woo me back.

This latest attempt has done nothing to dislodge me from my new-found conservative liberatarian stance.

In the subject line, it read: FW: Refuse new $ coin at the Post office or whoever gives them to you.

I guess the hoopla is over this coin: The new George Washington Dollar, because it does not have the words “In God We Trust” inscribed on it anywhere.

Non-god approved.

Non-god approved.

And the text of the mail was simply inspiring, with its wondrous use of all-American colors and American flag graphics:

REFUSE THE NEW $ COINS

 This simple action will make a strong  statement.    

Please help do this….refuse to accept these when they are handed to you.  I received one from the Post Office as change and I asked for a dollar bill instead. The lady just smiled and said ‘way to go’ so she had read this e-mail. Please help out…our world is in enough trouble without this too!!!!!

You guessed it

'IN GOD WE TRUST'   
IS  GONE!!!  
If ever  there was a reason to boycott something, THIS IS IT!!!!  

DO NOT ACCEPT THE NEW DOLLAR COINS AS CHANGE

Together we can force them out of circulation.

***

Now, I’m all about freedom of religion and freedom of speech. And personally, I don’t care who you worship, or if you worship at all — as long as you aren’t shacked up in a compound marrying and/or murdering (oh wait, “sacrificing”) children, hey, knock yourself out. For me, religion is like guns: when used responsibly, it can be a wonderful thing — it’s a tool that can provide and protect. But put it in the hands of bad or uneducated people, and well, expect all kinds of nonsense to occur.

But this? This is nothing to be “outraged” about. I completely don’t get the “If there was ever a reason to boycott something, THIS IS IT!!!” line. Does this mean forced labor in China is OK? That child labor in other countries is also OK? No need to boycott Wal-Mart then! But take God off the currency, and then it’s all “Break out the torches and pitchforks Ma, and let’s head on down to the White House!”

I am equally baffled about the “our world is in enough trouble with this too!!!!” line. Wait, if the motto on the currency worked as a remedy to evil, then how did we reached this point in the first place? I mean, U.S. currency is a standard around the world — so if that that little motto is so powerful, shouldn’t it have made the world safe and rainbow filled by now, with care bears dancing with puppies and unicorns in clover-filled fields? I mean, the little motto didn’t stop the housing crisis. Did nothing to stem the greed on Wall Street. And even “esteemed” religious leaders didn’t take the motto to heart: Remember Oral Roberts, with his “give me X amount of dollars, or God will take me home” line? Yeah. Motto didn’t do squat there. Jim and Tammy Faye Bakker and the PTL Club? Nope. Scandal, greed, etc. Those 4 little words seem to make no impact whatsoever.

Now, all sarcasm aside, I know that some of these folks are concerned that this is an attack on their faith; as the government chipping away at their religious freedoms. Let me assure you, it’s not. Now, maybe it is a little distancing of government and religion — but distancing isn’t the same as “going after” or “taking away.” And in this particular case, a little distance is a good thing. Do I really want God’s name put on something that has been essentially called “the root of all evil” in the Bible? (I put a link to an interesting little discussion on the topic.)

I don’t know. It seems to me that when it comes to money, the only thing people seem to care about is the amount of it, and what they can get in exchange for it. What’s on it makes seems to make no difference whatsoever.

5 Responses to “Separation of church and currency”


  1. 1 Sly Reference
    March 30, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    And the sadder thing is that it’s not true; the motto, as well as “e pluribus unum” are engraved in the edges of the coin. Snopes has some nifty pictures here: http://www.snopes.com/politics/religion/dollarcoin.asp

  2. March 30, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Well-written, 3.

  3. 3 funkyskull
    March 30, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I have always hated that “In God We Trust” is on my money. Because it’s MY money too. And doesn’t the whole freedom of religion thing allow for freedom FROM religion?? Drives me absolutely bonkers that the belief in God is such a given in the U.S. that it is printed right there on our money!

    In God YOU trust – not me. In Science I trust.

  4. April 14, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Sorry I’ve not checked in for a while…

    I know it’s all fake, but I have never known why people get freaked out by that phrase either being on money, or by those who don’t want it on their money.

    “In God We Trust”

    Which god exactly? The Mormon god? Catholic God? Protestant? – I bet all those people would be pissed off to know that the Jews and Muslims think of it as their god. It’s simply not one specific god that it refers to. God is used as a pronoun here, not a proper name.

    Then we have “we” – who the fuck is we? The people of the united states? The same fucks who hate each other for being gay, or for not supporting gays, or for being black or for voting for a black. The word “we” is more mythical than “god” in that sentence. We has never, in the terms of the USA or Govt, ever included me.

    So I really don’t care what’s on the coin. I don’t get why religious types want a pronoun on their dirty filth – root of all evil – money and I certain don’t get why people who don’t believe in god, honestly, give a fuck about what their money says.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,977 hits

