18
May
09

Mac v. PC, round 1

Oh dear God, the latest Mac vs. PC commercial pisses me off. I mean, they always tend to, but the latest one just goes above and beyond.

It’s the one with the line of PCs and the PC guy asking the user what she’s looking for, and they whittle out the line of PCs until she says, “I want one that doesn’t get viruses and never crashes,” and he then points her over to the Mac.

Are you really thinking differently when you basically join a cult?

OK, I’ve worked with Macs for my job for over 15 years. Macs DO crash. Macs DO fuck up. And even though their operating systems have gotten much better over the years (unlike Microsoft, in which they tend to follow a winner like XP with a dog like Vista), that DOES NOT mean that the PROGRAM YOU ARE RUNNING ON IT WON’T CRASH.

Or, think of it this way: When the program you’re using crashes, you still lose your work, but you no longer have to reboot the machine. You just have to re-launch the application! Hooray! THAT’S PROGRESS!

Trust me. At work, my Firefox (on a Mac) will crash due to certain ads on Yahoo, but never crashes on my PC. At work, my QuarkExpress will crash for no reason. I’ve lost countless hours worth of work because of programs crashing on Macs. Sometimes my networks won’t connect and I have to reboot the machine, even though I fire it up for a clean boot daily. And it’s not just my machine that is the “bad apple” — this happens to my coworkers as well.

I’m not saying this wouldn’t happened if I had a PC at work. I’m just pointing out that it’s a machine. It is flawed. It will break down. It’s really only a matter of “when” and how hard it’ll crash.

A WHAT kind of coffee?

A *WHAT* kind of coffee?

So please, Apple and Mac Culture dweebs — stop thumping your 95-pound-bench-pressing chests over your damn computer while wearing your Buddy Holly glasses, beret and Che shirt. Afterall,  you may knock over your Starbucks mocha llama vente coffee onto your precious, all powerful Mac (which may cause you to lick it more often than you already do).

There is nothing about the platform that is bad — different people prefer different tools to get their projects done. But advertising it like it’s the embodiment of perfection is beyond retarded, and buying into it is even moreso.

3 Responses to “Mac v. PC, round 1”


  1. 1 funkyskull
    May 18, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Actually, advertising it like it’s the embodiment of perfection has been a pretty brilliant and effective marketing campaign. If you are upset about a company advertising their product as superior to its competitor, well, this is going to be quite a long series of blogs, no?

  2. 2 Ian
    May 22, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Lying in advertizing… No, that never happens. Big companies would ever do that!


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,029 hits

