08
Jun
09

Let's get this thing rolling

After I noticed a small moon orbiting my gut, I knew it was time to get serious about dropping a few pounds.

Photobucket

Ride, Forest, riiiiiide!

So, yesterday I spent the day prepping my bikes for some training. New seat on the cyclocross bike (the original seat is as hard as a rock and muy uncomfortable), fixed a flat on the mountain bike and got that one ready to go. Well, except for the tube I used was bad, so it went flat again and I have to change it AGAIN. But that won’t take long.

The game plan now is this: rain or shine, I ride for at least 30 minutes a day, immediately after waking up. This means that I’m forcing my body to dip into fat reserves earlier (since it has no immediate energy to draw upon, unless I’m eating in my sleep, which I swear I’m doing), and I’m essentially doing circuit training by doing hill climbs.

And if the weather is too bad (ie, thunderstorms, since I don’t want to ride on a giant lightning rod), I bust out my trainer or ride for 30 minutes at the gym.

See, I have 3 big hills in my neighborhood. And my goal is to eventually ride up them 6-9 times (2-3 times each) for a morning ride. Then, after hitting the gym, I want to go mountain biking a couple times a week.

If that seems like a lot, really, it isn’t. I used to work out, mountain bike for 6 miles at Roaring Run in Apollo, then MTB an additional 6 at Deer Lakes Park in East Deer. When I did that, I dropped down to 191 lbs (a far cry from the almost 220 I sit at now). I remember feeling good. My legs were strong. My heart was strong. And I partied like a rock star with no thoughts of tomorrow. It was all gonna be burned off on that next ride — that I could count on.

So, today, it started. I rode up that first hill fine. The second hill, I made it up 3/4 of the way. That last hill, only the first 1/4. And then I rode on the side streets to make my way back home.

Well, my legs are sore. I’m sweating like a beast. And I know I have a long way to go.

But hey, it’s a start.

2 Responses to “Let's get this thing rolling”


  1. June 8, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    I’m sure you were inspired/scared after watching the 1,000-pound teen.

    “When you look down and can’t see your junk, there’s a problem.”


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,981 hits

