16
Jun
09

First blood

So its Roaring Run in Apollo and not Deer Lakes ... sue me.

So it's Roaring Run in Apollo and not Deer Lakes ... sue me.

I’m cut, scraped up and sore … and grinning ear to ear.

I made some big improvements from yesterday’s ride. Riding a little more aggressively. Taking some hills that I couldn’t take yesterday (thank you muscle memory!). Breathing really hard but still chugging along.

Ride hard.

I even got my first cuts of the ’09 MTB season. One on the left arm, 2 on the right, and nice scrape on my left knee, which extends all the way down to the middle of my shin. This is why when I start to tan, you will find I have a million small scars on my arms and shins.

Thorn bushes suck.

I do need to work on my downhills and my switchbacks, but that’ll come with time.

But I did get to chase some deer, and I extended my ride by about 1.5 miles. And I feel like my goals of getting back into decent MTB shape will be reached in a matter of weeks, not months. That’s pretty freakin’ exciting.

While I still got a ways to go, for the first time in a long time, I feel like I can safely say, “I’m back, baby! I’m back.”

2 Responses to “First blood”


  1. June 16, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    I can’t wait until the kid is big enough for us to start hitting some tough trails. The Chariot of Mini Me isn’t quite cut out for that kind of riding.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

  • @nmd_shark Someone mentioned them at work and I heard it and was like "I need to give this a better listen." Very happy I did. 48 minutes ago
  • May have had a shit lift but walking through the park listening to Russian Circles is hitting the spot. 1 hour ago
  • Folks, I KNOW. Hence rule No. 1: No talking in the gym. 2 hours ago
  • Plus I'm sure she just wants to lift. 3 hours ago
  • I really want to tell this young lady lifter that she has some of the strictest/best form I've seen in a long time, but no talking in gym 3 hours ago

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,980 hits

