26
Jun
09

A note to the media

Please stop using the term “as the world mourns” when discussing the deaths of Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett.

While their loved ones and fans will miss them, I won’t. And I know there’s a lot of other people out there who don’t give a flying fig, either. I’ve never met either celebrity. Never knew them. I know that sounds horribly selfish and callous, but when I see people in hysterics over a celebrity’s death (and that’s any celebrity), I’m left scratching my head. Those people are the exceptions, not the norm.

They had high-profile jobs — they were entertainers —  and that’s about it.

Yes, I was alive during the “Thriller” era for MJ.

Yes, I was alive when Farrah Fawcett was THE sex symbol.

Both may have had a tiny influence on my life, but not enough to make me mourn their passing. And for once, I think I’m the norm and not the exception.

So please media, stop acting like the world has stopped because of their deaths. Let their families and friends mourn, and let it be respectful and peaceful. But stop acting like I am (or should be) one of them, when I most certainly am not.

5 Responses to “A note to the media”


  1. 1 paulie fenton
    June 26, 2009 at 10:05 am

    YOU’RE A CRY BABY,

    While their loved ones and fans will miss them, I won’t.

    And for once, I think I’m the norm and not the
    exception.

    Both may have had a tiny influence on my life

    IT’S ALL ABOUT YOU.
    GET OVER IT.

  2. 2 Three
    June 26, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    A crybaby? Because I feel that the coverage of their deaths is completely overblown? Because I think the people who have never met either person that are inconsolable in reaction to their passing are retarded?

    Was MJ a great entertainer? Sure he was. He was also an alleged pedophile. I’m sorry, I’m not going to get worked up over his death. (And don’t give me the “He was a troubled soul” bullshit — cause so are the majority of people in jail, and they get no sympathy from the public.)

    Farah — well, to be honest, I don’t think I’ve seen her in anything except the famous poster.

    I guess I’m super insensitive that I care more about the situation in Iran (you know, average people’s deaths are just so bland) and North Korea than I do about the deaths of 2 celebrities.

    If that makes me a crybaby, then I guess I am. Wha.

  3. June 29, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I’m honestly a bit more upset by the death of Billy Mays. He was a Pittsburgher, he excelled at his job without an abusive father driving him, without managers turning him into little more than a trained (oh no, dare I say it about someone who happens to have been black?) monkey.

    Jackson was a semi-talented non-musician who was pushed into a life he couldn’t handle. I feel bad for him on that level. But I also always recognize that he decided to continue living that sort of life, he chose to fuck up his face and body with surgery, he chose to turn to drugs, he chose to fuck little children. Worse, he chose to marry Lisa Marie Presley… perhaps to search Graceland for any leftover drugs?

    Even if he did write all of his own songs and music, even if he donated bajillions to starving AIDS victims with herpes, none of that takes away from the inhuman parts of him that allowed him to place his finger in little Macaulay Culkin’s butthole.

    Ok maybe he didn’t rape Mac, but you don’t pay millions of dollars to the parents of children you didn’t molest.

    So I say, fuck Michael, RIP Billy! I’ll wear a Hercules Hook in your honor as a down a Primanti’s sammitch!

  4. June 29, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Oh and you aren’t a crybaby, you are just gay.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,076 hits

