14
Oct
09

Gimme a minute, ‘kay?

So, as I posted on my older blog, this is my new blogging home. The burning question that I’m sure you, my former blog readers, have is “WHY?”

OK, so here’s the rationale:

  1. Basically, I HATE having my blog’s address listed as “pheh.wordpress.com” and having the blog called “World of Threes.” In my mind, it makes my blog hard to find and definitely makes it confusing when I talk to people about blogging.
    “Hey, I write a blog, you should check it out.”
    “What’s it called?”
    “World of Threes!”
    “What’s the URL? WorldofThrees.com?”
    “No, pheh.wordpress.com”
    “WTF? Dude, that’s dumb.”
    “Yeah…I gotta fix that one of these days.”
    It’s been bugging me for a long time … and I’ve decided to do something about it. I didn’t see a simple way to change the address name in the wordpress listings, so I figured I’d have to create a new one, and transfer my old blog stuff here. A pain in the dupa, sure, but at least I can have a little uniformity.
  2. The whole “Pheh” thing came about because I was basically tapped out on ideas. “Blog name? Feh. I don’t frickin’ know.” When I started Wo3s, all I knew was that I was completely disgusted with myspace, where I had been keeping a personal blog. And being disgusted is no way to start a blog. I didn’t really have a direction, so I started poking around the ‘burgosphere, figuring a good direction to go would be to emulate some of the more popular bloggers, and play around until I found my own direction. And to that end, I was successful. I tried out different approaches — some worked, some didn’t — and  now I know what I want to do. But the original concepts behind Wo3s don’t fit anymore. So, it’ll be a fresh start, with access to all of the previous shenanigans.

Now that you understand that, let me answer the next question:
“Why ‘Sheep the Moon’? What the hell does that even mean?”

One night I was in on an Ulduar raid in World of Warcraft. It was the first time in a long time that we had a mage with us, and we had gotten further than expected. We were staring down new enemies, and our raid leader wasn’t really sure of how to handle a group of trash mobs. So, as he marked them up, he told the mage, “I need you to sheep the moon.”

Mess with the mage, you Baaah like the rest.

Mess with the mage, you Baaah like the rest.

Of course, I had a nice beer buzz going, and burst out laughing. I’ve heard the term a million times, but it just struck me as sounding so completely obscure and ridiculous — but to us Dorkcraft players, it was a specific action that was perfectly clear.

See, when your group is facing too many opponents to handle successfully, the raid leader marks them with little icons in order to prioritize kill order and keep others incapacitated until you’re ready to kill them. So, a “skull” over a bad guy means that he is the first to die, the “X” means the second to die, etc. But a crescent moon over a mob means the person playing a mage has to turn the target into a sheep, thereby keeping it out of the fight until other bad guys are dead. Hence the phrase “Sheeping the moon.”

So, after our raid leader had said, “Sheep the moon” several more times, I decided that if I was ever going to write a gaming blog, I would call it “Sheep The Moon.”

But since I’m not going to do that, I opted to use it for a new home.

And you know what? The phrase still makes me smile and giggle a bit.

3 Responses to “Gimme a minute, ‘kay?”


  1. October 14, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    You know what? I like it!

  2. 2 Mike
    October 14, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Much more creative than “Moon The Sheep”, which would be a completely different blog.

    • 3 Three
      October 15, 2009 at 12:38 am

      And yet, some blogs would essentially be the same…


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,101 hits

