28
Oct
09

Musical rooms

I’ve decided it’s time to ramp up my efforts in the home renovation department — mainly because I want to rip up the carpet in my living room and expose the hardwood floors that lay underneath. But, I’m working on getting my upstairs situated before I tackle yet another project.

But I’ve formulated a plan of  attack — which means I’m going to be playing musical rooms with my upstairs.

See, right now, my upstairs consists of the Mini-Geek Room, the Geekatorium and the Master Bedroom (and my bathroom, but I’m not touching that sucker for quite awhile, despite the ugly factor).

In my bathroom and the MGR. OH, how it makes me want to cry.

Now, all the rooms need to have the plaster patched and painted. Easy enough. And now, I’m getting the windows replaced in the MGR and the Geekatorium, so those will be ready to be painted relatively soon. So what’s the deal?

The MGR is my hell come to life.

 

Originally, the MGR had this wallpaper glaring at me. And I ripped it all out. Mostly. See, it had some uber backing that seems to be impossible to get off the plaster, which I’m trying to keep. Steaming didn’t do squat to take that backing off. Chemicals have also been equally repelled. So my plan of attack is to A) try and use my heat gun on a low setting and scraping it off or B) bust out the sander and just sand the whole thing down and paint over it. Last option is C, which is rip them out and hang drywall. Oh, how I don’t want C to happen.

Right now, the MGR looks like this:

The yellow = wallpaper backing

The Wall of Pain. But look at that cherrywood door, yo.

Now, all the work can be done … I’m confident of that. However, it is long, tedious, excessively boring work — which I have to confess, I’m not a fan of. But nonetheless, if this phase gets me to the ultimate goal of hardwood floors in the livingroom, so be it.

See, once the MGR is ready to go, I’m going to make it the temporary home of the Geekatorium. The Geekatorium just needs to be patched and painted, so when that’s done, I’ll make it my bedroom while I do work to the Master Bedroom. After that’s done, bedroom goes back to the Master Bedroom, and MGR remains the geek room. That’s where the fun begins.

I’m going to move the livingroom upstairs and put it in the Geekatorium. Then I’ll have electricians rewire the living room. After that, I’ll paint, and pull up the carpeting to expose those floors. Of course, they’ll need sanded and finished, but that’s not too difficult — or so I’ve been told.

But the main obstacle will be the MGR. That’s my focus for the next 6 months. I want to complete it by spring.  After that, if I can get the rest done in the following year, I’ll be happy.

The things I’ll do for those damn hardwood floors….

4 Responses to “Musical rooms”


  1. 1 Mike
    October 28, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Warm water with fabric softener will take that wallpaper down. I know it sounds stupid, but give it a try before you do something more difficult. Soak the wallpaper backing with the warm water/fabric softener solution, and let it soak in, then gently try to peel it away. It may take a while to soak in. run a knife along the backing, just to open it up and let the water get in. I’ve used this method on several wallpapers, and it hasn’t failed me. If it doesn’t work, you’ve only lost an hour, abut you have soft walls!

  2. October 28, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I’ve tried that. My wallpaper backing laughed at the Snuggles. I don’t know what kind of stuff this was, but man, it has stayed put. I’ll probably just paint over it in the areas where it’s uniform and requires minor patching, but the Wall of Pain will require a lot of work before I paint.

  3. 3 Lightweight
    October 28, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    dumb question, but did you score the paper before soaking it with the chemicals and/or fabric softener?

    • October 29, 2009 at 12:25 am

      Yes, it’s been scored. It’s been fabric softened. It’s been steamed and soaked. It’s had chemicals applied. That shit just don’t want to come off.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

  • Recent #GOP action ended any chance of me voting for them ever again, but ending #NetNeutrality means I start contributing to Dem campaigns. 29 minutes ago
  • I don't know about the rest of you, but I sleep SO WELL when it snows cause everyone panics and it's so quiet out... 1 hour ago
  • Do parents often do imitations of their kids cause I'd love to hear them... 3 hours ago
  • Coworker is busting on his 13 year old son and I'm in tears laughing. 4 hours ago
  • @shannonplush cause I'm a jerk. 18 hours ago

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,119 hits

