31
Oct
09

Twits

Twitter.

So, as most of you know, I’ve joined the world of Twitter. I kept hearing about how important of a tool it is, especially if you linger in the social media world. Hey, I blog! I’m in that social media world! How can I live my life one more second without such a miraculous thing? I mean, it’s like Billy Mays returned from the grave and told me how insignificant I am for not having a Twitter  account. I got it Billy! I signed up! And I swear I’ll use OxyClean! Stop haunting me!

So, after taking Billy’s advice, all I can say is “Whaaaaaa?”

Since signing up, my life doesn’t feel any richer. Or different.  And sure, my whites are a little bit whiter, but I don’t think that has anything to do with Twitter.

Maybe it’s because I’m still wrangling with the concept of what Twitter actually does. No one can seem to tell me. For me, it’s just a mass instant messenger, except you really don’t expect a response. It’s more of a “Hey! You should check this out!” — in other words, a way to promo stuff or get news out quickly.

In that context, yeah, I can see its value —  if I were a celebrity and I wanted to announce something to my fans. Or an organization. Or a sports team that has a couple billion fans. “Quick,” “effective” and “cheap” are blessed words to a group with a need for mass communication.

But other than that, I’m kinda befuddled as to what it can do for a regular guy like myself.

See, here’s my predicament: Generally speaking, the same people who are following me on Twitter are already my Facebook friends. Predominately, my blog’s readers are also my FB friends. So, that being stated, why shouldn’t I just keep up with FBing my statuses and forgo the whole Twitter experience?

I’ve been trying to figure this stuff out … really, I have. But for me, Twitter is like some crazy gizmo that you’d see in the Far Side (Gary Larson is a genius, btw) — it has a boot, a duck head wearing a top hat that’s connected to a spring, a corkscrew handle and a slinky.

OK, I see it’s there. I’ve picked it up and kicked it around a little. But my initial question still remains — what is it that I’m actually supposed to do with this thing?

4 Responses to “Twits”


  1. 1 Vaughn Schmid
    October 31, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    I signed up myself a little while ago and unlike you I don’t really blog so I’ve sent one tweet in the 6 months since I’ve joined. But about once a week I get a new follower on my twitter account and so of course my question is, what the hell are these people thinking? I could see if you knew me but random people just decide to follow me even though I’m not saying anything. So I’m a little befuddled by the whole twitter thing as well….maybe I’ll start a band so I have something to tweet about!

  2. 2 Nancy Pegher
    October 31, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    I personally don’t twitter but I would say that even with FB and the blog, I feel like I just don’t get enough to meet my daily recommended dose of vitamin art. My only concern is that you will have used up all your witty and on those rare occasions when I actually get to see you, you will just sit there saying nothing like Simpson J Frog. Or worse you will answer my question on twitter instead of responding to me and it will be like pay for view art. Come to think of it I am now against you twittering. Boo. Down with twitter.

  3. November 3, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Three, I don’t know if you are doing it yet but you might get some satisfaction from following Steelers, Penguins and Pirates beat writers. As an avid sports fan, my biggest Twitter enjoyment comes from them and other fans during game time.

    Also, when it comes to injuries the newspaper guys get the information out very fast on Twitter – much quicker than the TV coverage.

    • November 3, 2009 at 3:00 pm

      I have been following the sports teams (except for the Pirates, who are minor league team not worth my following), and again, I can see its value there…


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,076 hits

