14
Nov
09

big time?

So I’m kicking around the idea of moving the blog (I know I know) to its own home — yes, a site I’d have to pay for — mainly so I can have a little more freedom in terms of layout, allowing ads, etc.  While I’m mostly happy with the current layout and WordPress, there’s some tweaks that I’d like to do. Plus, there’s some other plans in the mix that I’d like to play around with in the future.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a host? WordPress recommends a few, like Blue Host, Go Daddy, Dream Host, Media Temple and Just Host, but really, I have to admit I’m out of my league here and have no idea of what I’d need. And I really don’t get the whole cost variance thing — like why are some base packages $3.95 (as a special) and others $20? I guess I’ll have to start doing some research.

But if anyone can point me in the right direction, please do. What to look for, what I’ll need, etc. Again, way out of my league here. Thanks in advance.

10 Responses to “big time?”


  1. 1 Jae
    November 14, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Ask Aroha – she’d have some good suggestions.

  2. 2 JermCool
    November 14, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    LOL…She probably even has some server space you can use provided you buy your own domain name.

  3. November 14, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Hey Three, great idea moving the blog – again. I assume you are going to go with a self-hosted WordPress install?

    As far as web hosts go, we are currently using Dream Host and I have to be honest, I’m less than satisfied with the result. We have had numerous outages and there is no phone number for support unless you are willing to pony up the big bucks for a private server.

    That said, we too are currently looking for a new web host, unfortunately I have no recommendations for you right now.

    Anyway, best of luck with the migration. You will find a self-hosted WordPress solution to be far superior to wordpress.com.

    • November 14, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      Thanks for the input. I’ll be poking around, and will shoot you a mail if come across anything I like.

      • November 15, 2009 at 3:09 pm

        Sounds good. If you have any other questions let me know — my somewhere between adequate and piss poor web skills may be of some assistance.

  4. 6 Aro
    November 14, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    I have ideas. All the time. I’m just that good.

    Personally, I use Dreamhost. I have multiple domains and like the unlimited aspect of it in regards to domains I can host and space/bandwidth. The fact I only paid like $8 for an entire year of hosting helped. Heh. I actually moved there from GoDaddy, which is slow, painful and ungainly. Don’t use it. Not. Ever*.

    If you wanted to try out the freedom thing first to see how it works for you, I can set you up on my space with your choice of blogging software. I ummm … also … ummm … own the domain name sheepthemoon.com/net. /ducks

    * Their hosting sucks but I still recommend them for domain name purchases.

    • November 14, 2009 at 6:33 pm

      Damn you Aro! Sell me the name!

      I’m thinking about giving Just Host a try. $4/mo, yadda yadda yadda.

  5. 8 Aro
    November 14, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Yeah, we were talking about it that night my domain-whore ways got the better of me. I didn’t realize you were serious about doing anything with it though!

    Dream Host have had a few problems with some servers lately, mostly due to server upgrades. But that’s expected with shared hosting. Unless you’re willing to shell out big bucks for a smaller host with less load or mega bucks for private servers, you can expect some problems.

    • November 14, 2009 at 10:04 pm

      To be honest, I didn’t know I was going to do anything with it either … until recently. But I’m sure we can work something out so I can get the name. 🙂

      Oh, and I expect problems — that’s just a given. WordPress has been pretty solid, but I think I’ve just outgrown it (especially since I’ve got a couple plans!).

      • 10 Aro
        November 15, 2009 at 5:56 pm

        Yep, I’m sure we can figure something out. I have both the .com and the .net registered for 2 years.

        Shoot me an email when you’re ready to do something. I can also help out with installing software, design etc. It’s a whole new ball game when you start doing it on your own! LOL.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

  • @nmd_shark Someone mentioned them at work and I heard it and was like "I need to give this a better listen." Very happy I did. 46 minutes ago
  • May have had a shit lift but walking through the park listening to Russian Circles is hitting the spot. 1 hour ago
  • Folks, I KNOW. Hence rule No. 1: No talking in the gym. 2 hours ago
  • Plus I'm sure she just wants to lift. 3 hours ago
  • I really want to tell this young lady lifter that she has some of the strictest/best form I've seen in a long time, but no talking in gym 3 hours ago

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,980 hits

