08
Dec
09

Where it all went wrong

If you ask me what happened to the Stillers this year, I don’t have any idea of where to start. But for me, their season is basically over — and that’s a tough pill to swallow. I expected to at least be a contender. But after how many last-minute losses, I’m done for the season. I’d rather watch a team that generally sucks overachieve than watch a great team underachieve. (See Bad News Bears.)

The Steelers season is about as attractive as this...

Is it the injuries? Coaching? Tomlin himself? I don’t know. From my complete outsider perspective, it seems like the team bit onto the hype early on and choked on it as the season continued. “Wait, we’re supposed to beat these teams, how come they’re not letting us win?”

One thing I do know is that there is no intensity to this team. They play like they’ve already lost, and we all know how self-fulfilling prophecies go. Like in Sunday’s game, when Ike Taylor gently tried to push the receiver out of bounds, and the guy runs on the sideline and scores. Really Ike? You really just nudged him? How about tackling? Could you give that a try?

As fans, we all have our theories … we’re going to point to this unit and that, to this coach and that coach … and Tomlin is really going to feel “unleashed hell” as fans turn against him.

My feelings? Well, I think there’s no player leadership on the team. I think our backups are unprepared. I think our special teams are “short bus” special.  I think our defense just flat out quits after 45 minutes because they expect their reputation to defeat their opponents in the 4th quarter. But again, this is all moot.

What’s really going to be interesting is what happens in the next few months. This is where we see what Coach Tomlin is really made of. Anyone can coach a team that’s winning … but the legendary coaches manage to pull something good out of a losing season and build on it. Time to see if Tomlin can do the same.

Coach, you’re on the clock. It’s your ball.

(Oh, and as a way to make all of us Stiller fans feel better, be sure to check out this drunk Ravens fan. Every time he smacks his head into the garbage can, and angel gets his wings.)

1 Response to “Where it all went wrong”


  1. December 9, 2009 at 11:55 am

    In many ways as a Giants fan I can empathize with your plight. My guys find themselves in a very similar situation as the Steelers, lots of hype, lots of talent, lots of crappy football. It is tough to watch any team that is(was) known for physical toughness simply take the field with the mindset that we will win just by showing up. Another season of promise has turned to one of disappointment and it has my fellow Giants fans asking the same questions that you are asking of your Steelers.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,029 hits

