15
Jan
10

Sober actions

So, I’ve been on the wagon now for 2 weeks, and I’ve noticed a couple of things. And no, it’s not that I’m craving a beer. I have 3 Dogfishead Punkins in the fridge, and more beer down in the basement (Mad Elf and St. Nikolaus Bock as well as two big bottles that I got as gifts), and I haven’t even remotely had the urge to crack one open.

But what I have noticed is I seem to do A LOT more when I take alcohol out of the equation.

Today is a good example: I began the P90X routine (much tougher than I expected), went shopping, cooked, cleaned, spent about 2 hours cutting wood that was too long to fit into the wood burning stove, grabbed a quick power nap, cooked and cleaned some more, and finally settled down to watch a 2 hour marathon of Jersey Shore. (Oh Jersey Shore, why can’t I quit you?)

I’ve also broken out the cycling trainer and have been riding. I reorganized my kitchen yesterday (which I feel totally good about — so much more practical). I have plans to reorganize the living room. I’ve eaten fast food once in the past 2 weeks (normally, that’s almost an every day occurrence).

So, yeah, it’s safe to say there’s been some changes. I’m feeling more organized. I get more stuff done. In fact, I’ve probably gotten more stuff done in the past 2 weeks than I have in November and December combined. And I have a long way to go. You know those niggling little things around the house that you swear you’re gonna do, but since they really don’t impact you enough to change RIGHT NOW, you let them go? Yeah, I’m taking those suckers down. That included a door to my cellar that always seemed to be in the way.

I’m also much more of hermit. I’m not going out at all, but really, I’m not missing it. I have so much to do around the house that staying in is a good option. Besides, it has been remarked upon that me sober is not nearly as fun as me drunk — and I can’t argue that point.

However, I will say I enjoy not wasting the day sacked out in bed due to a hangover. Whittling down that “to do” list and getting stuff done is a great, great feeling.

7 Responses to “Sober actions”


  1. January 15, 2010 at 3:53 am

    Dino, dino! Totally agree. I did new year/detox for so many reasons. Your blog actually made me commit. And it was so worth it. Not trying to be over-EMO {het, gay boys!}, but DAMN. Thanks for being YOU. VAMPIRE CIRCUS for LIFE.

    • January 15, 2010 at 3:54 am

      HEY. Not Het.****

  2. 3 Arthurius
    January 15, 2010 at 4:07 am

    Your posts are boring sober. One of needs to get drunk so you get funnier.

    But since I’m such a good friend, I volunteer for that duty.

  3. January 15, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Oh man Jersey Shore, eh? As a resident said shore (about 14 miles south of Seaside Heights where all of these shenanigans take place) I just cannot bring myself to watch it. It seems to be just me though as many are indulging in this train wreck.

    I’m also in a beer-free period. I have yet to be struck by the productivity bug yet though.

    • January 15, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      A lot of my Jersey friends feel the same way as you. In fact, bring it up around my friend Corey and the first thing she does is yell, “They aren’t even from Jersey!”

      But with that in mind, if you like stupid people who think they are all that make asses out of themselves, it’s a great show.

      How long are you going to be beer free?

  4. January 19, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    One word for you: BRAVO!

  5. January 20, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Hey [Three], I lurk around on your blog sometimes, don’t even remember how I stumbled across it, probably FB link — anyway, thought I’d share that I used to be much more fun drunk too — to my drinking pals. Those who really like me (presumably the husband, kids, family, etc.) hate it when I drink because my brand of fun-loving, lovable and hilarious is actually fairly obnoxious to sober people. I quit the heavy drinking when I went the family route and, for the most part, moved on to other friends I had other things in common with. Now when I get trashed a couple times a year, I generally do it alone! because I’m about the only person who finds me entertaining when I drink (I am absolutely charming. And I usually start ranting in bad German…) So it’s a pretty big turnaround for me. I still enjoy it, very very occasionally, and on those occasions much to excess, but on the whole I certainly like myself better without it. Knitting drunk — not a pretty sight.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

  • @nmd_shark Someone mentioned them at work and I heard it and was like "I need to give this a better listen." Very happy I did. 1 hour ago
  • May have had a shit lift but walking through the park listening to Russian Circles is hitting the spot. 2 hours ago
  • Folks, I KNOW. Hence rule No. 1: No talking in the gym. 3 hours ago
  • Plus I'm sure she just wants to lift. 3 hours ago
  • I really want to tell this young lady lifter that she has some of the strictest/best form I've seen in a long time, but no talking in gym 3 hours ago

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,980 hits

