01
Feb
10

Moving to Phase II

So, one of my lifestyle changes has been getting my diet under control. No, I’m not “dieting” per se, but I am eliminating a lot of bad foods from diet, and eating roughly 5 meals (400 calories each) a day. (Or, basically, the routine outlined in “Burn the Fat, Feed the Muscle” — there’s more to it than just calorie restrictions.)

I did this once before in August to September, and lost 8 lbs. The thing I hated about it was feeling like I was constantly cooking and focused on what and when I was eating. You know why most people aren’t bodybuilders or ultra-thin? Because it doesn’t take long before “watching what/when you eat”  starts sliding into the “obsessed” zone. I don’t like that feeling, as I’m sure other people don’t as well. I have other things I want to think about and focus on. That’s why I basically abandoned the routine in September.

But, since I’m older and can no longer rely on just exercising harder to burn off the extra calories, I opted to go back to that routine. In January (Phase I) I wanted to focus on getting the good eating habits down before I really started integrating hard core  workouts. And for the most part, I’ve been successful. Minimal snackage. Minimal fast foodage or eating out. Weight has dropped by about 6-7 lbs. We’re on the right track.

Here’s what I’ve found my body likes: eggs/potatoes/yogurt for breakfast (or post workout meal, since I don’t eat until after I lift), turkey/ham/chicken sandwich with fruit for lunch, 1 meal with land-based meat/veges/potato, 1 meal with fish-based meat/rice/veges, and 1 late night snack of oatmeal and protein shake. Meals 1 and 2 I can make en masse and just throw together throughout the week without feeling that I’m a slave to the kitchen, which is great because I have such limited time in the afternoons to get stuff done.

Now I think I’m ready for Phase II.

Basically, Phase II incorporates the workouts. I’m going to be trying different stuff here as well. Parts of my old routines, some parts of Tony Horton’s P90, P90M and P90X routines, and LOTS more stretching. I’m hoping by the end of February to have a better feel of what my body likes and what it doesn’t. I know the stretching makes my left ankle feel better, so hopefully I’ll be able to resume hiking in a few months.

We’ll see how this works out. Come March, I should have a much better handle on things, and should be ready to combine the new diet and the new routine to get the results I want/need. Coincidentally, that’ll be about the time the trails start thawing out, and I’ll be out in the slog, just cranking away. God I can’t wait until March. I miss the mud.

1 Response to “Moving to Phase II”


  1. February 2, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    I read “Tony Hortons” as “Tim Hortons.” I think that says something about me.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,977 hits

