20
Sep
10

Podcamp, Vol II: The reunion

One of the lessons I took away from podcamp was breaking down bigger stories into smaller chunks. And in that vein, here’s a little quirky story that came out of my first hour there.

Podcamp: A way to meet peeps.

I was downstairs, talking to @cprior2 (who I’ve known for awhile) and @Yaytoast (who I’ve never met until that day). In walks a young chatty young woman who goes by @andreadisaster on Twitter. I look at her nametag (which had her real name on it), and it’s a name I recognize, but can’t place where. We chat, and as it goes on, I’m not finding anything that rings a bell of familiarity. As the conversation continues, I’m running through the names in my head … Twitter? No. Facebook? No. Commenter on my blog? No.

Why do I know this name?

We part and I’m milling around in the lobby. In walks a young man, who starts talking to @andreadisaster. I hear her say something about her journalistic career, and my ears perk up. He says something about writing obits, and the light goes off in my head.

I bellow out, “That’s it! I think I work with you!”

She turns and says, “Wait, you’re [my name], from the Clark Building?”

“Yes.”

“OH MY GOD,” she says. “I can’t believe this is happening!” She turns to her friend and says, “You don’t understand! I talk to him on the phone EVERY DAY!”

And then it was on. We were trading stories, asking questions about each other’s coworkers and laughing our butts off. See, we work in different buildings, but her department calls my department when they’re done with their job, and we make the magic happen … but we rarely, if ever, see each other. I think in my entire time on the job, I’ve seen 3 people from her department. And even then, it’s usually only once … like when they’ve resigned and are finishing up in H.R.

When you think about it, chances are we should have met at a company function … any company function. A Christmas Party. Maybe the company picnic. But no, it never happened … mainly because folks in our departments don’t usually get an opportunity to join in the reindeer games.

But leave it to podcamp to bring us social media nerds together for the first time.

So not only was our meeting a little bit of awesome — but it was a great reminder about how small our worlds can be.

4 Responses to “Podcamp, Vol II: The reunion”


  1. September 20, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Like I always say…You can’t swing a dead cat in this town….

    • September 20, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      Oh, that’s what I told her. While she was (mildly) freaking out, I said, “To me, this is just Pittsburgh.”

  2. 3 Baldy
    September 21, 2010 at 12:19 am

    happens to me all the time…

  3. September 23, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Very nice of you to write that I said OH MY GOD when bellowed is more appropriate. 😉 Great to meet you!


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,029 hits

