28
Sep
10

New Jersey: The Portugal of Philly

My buddy, @AngrierFish on Twitter, has jumped into the fray that I started with yesterday’s post. He tried to tell @ChrissieC that for us, everything east of Harrisburg is Philly. And, to boot, on Facebook, he posted a map — tagging me at one end, and the NJ crew on the other.

I’ve taken that map and expounded on it a bit. So here you go: How “aht East” is seen by those of us on the West side of the militarized zone:

Do you get it now, New Jersey?

(I shoulda totally added ‘WaWa’ out there for NJ. Oh well…)

10 Responses to “New Jersey: The Portugal of Philly”


  1. 1 Mike
    September 28, 2010 at 11:51 am

    You forgot to illustrate all the road construction cones, keeping us from getting to all those places!

    • September 28, 2010 at 11:56 am

      I’d have to fill in the entire state as orange to get that point across.

  2. September 28, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    I’m finding loads of entertainment in your temporary Jersey-centric postings—even if my state is taking a beating. The Wawa Omission is considerable as it defines much of our existence, especially for those of us in South Jersey. Other than Wawa we get the shaft of the state, we are the red-headed stepchildren of the red-headed stepchild state. It’s a vicious cycle.

  3. 4 Chrissie
    September 28, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I agree with Greg. NJ without Wawa is like Christmas without presents. Yes, you can still have a nice time without it, but why would you want to? My friends up in North Jersey (New York, to those in the ‘burgh) treat stop-offs at the Wawa like it’s some sort of sacred pilgrimage when they come down to visit me at the shore.

    I still can’t see the map. When I was viewing it at work I just assumed it was my internet connection at the office (or lack thereof). But now that I’m home, I’m still getting the red “x”…no pic.

  4. 5 Michele
    September 29, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    I can’t see the map either! Quick Chek is the store of choice for those of us north of the Driscoll Bridge! 7-11 is still going strong as well. I like how Greg refers to south Jersey as the redheaded step-child! Oh so true! I’m sure the infamous “jug handle” is missing from the map because no out-of-staters understand that you cannot make direct lefts in this state!

    • September 29, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      Don’t know why you guys can’t see the map. You must not be in the right part of Jersey, as it’s just a jpeg. A complicated Jpeg, yes, but a jpeg nonetheless.

      • September 29, 2010 at 2:08 pm

        I just checked the post out on my work computer, which regrettably runs IE6 and I too am getting the red X of death. However, on all quality web browsers (ones not made by Microsoft) there is no problem with the image.

      • September 29, 2010 at 2:36 pm

        Ah, gotcha. I have no problems in Google Chrome (home computer) and Firefox (at work), so Michele and Chrissie are just running obsolete browsers.

    • 9 Mike
      October 1, 2010 at 10:41 am

      I have some experience with the jughandles, having visited Corey many times. And also with how you can’t pump your own gas. Here, the reason you can’t make direct lefts is not because of jughandles, it’s because the road you’re turning onto is closed for construction. Probably the road you’re turning off of as well. And don’t even think about trying to cross that bridge.

  5. 10 Chrissie
    October 5, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Mike, you haven’t lived until you’ve crossed a bridge with Michele and I!!!! Talk about taking your life in your hands!!!! LOL!


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,049 hits

