21
Oct
10

Lemming

I’ve never been one to follow the crowd. Sometimes I find myself at the front, but it’s usually accidentally … and more than likely, it’s because I was so far behind everyone that when the trend came back around, I looked like an innovator. I don’t always consider this to be a bad thing, because, quite honestly, most of the cool, hip, trendy things are completely overhyped and useless. But sometimes, just sometimes, the lemmings get it right.

 

What happens on the South Side stays ... ahahahaha, it totally doesn't.

 

And in that vein, I’ve finally joined the smartphone geeks.

I got a Droid X yesterday.

Now, I’m not one of these guys who has to have the latest and greatest. I don’t live and die by the name brand. I need functional, practical and I prefer to have options I don’t need than to need options I don’t have. There was nothing wrong with my Blackberry (which I didn’t even have a data plan on), but I started seeing the practicality of having a smartphone when I was at podcamp.

So, I went a-shoppin.

Now, before all you AppleJacks bust on me for not buying an iPhone, please consider 3 things: 1) I dislike most Apple products. 2) I get a work discount for Verizon. 3) I’m a cheap bastard. Lower monthly bills with a lower upfront cost, the Droid was a no brainer.

So, I went in to the pick the brain of the salesguys, and make my decision on which Droid to get. While doing so, I discovered that most of the Verizon reps in my area were more concerned with selling accessories than phones, and tended to be more steeped in cleavage exposure than phone knowledge. But I talked to a Best Buy rep who was awesome, and I confessed that I would be buying online because the price differences were just too huge not to. “Oh, we do price matching.” “Oh really?” Ya really. And they did. $99, same as Wirefly. Rock on.

 

Wait HOW LONG?! ACK! THHHHP!

 

But even as I was making the purchase, I sat watching people croon on and on about their phones. Most of them were kids to me … early 20s. The one girl broke her phone, and wasn’t eligible for an upgrade for 2 weeks. The salesguy told her they could probably do an upgrade in 7 days, but not 2 weeks. Her boyfriend told her to wait and just get an upgrade. “You can’t wait a few days?” Her answer? “No.” And I mean a “NO” as in he just asked her to skin live kittens. So, instead of a few days of inconvenience, she shelled out a couple hundred to solve her situation.

Then there’s the other end of the spectrum: Me.

“I think I’m out of contract.”

“Well, let’s see,” says the salesguy. Click click click.  “Yup, you’ve been out of your contract since 2007.” *Disbelief* “Wait, you mean you didn’t even bother to upgrade?!”

Obviously not.

Even a different salesperson asked me if I was excited to getting a new phone. I looked at her incredulously. “Really, it’s just a phone.”

“Awww. That makes me sad!” What, that I put ZERO status on my phone? Or that you pity me because you think I’m a technophobe who would carry around a rotary phone if could. Hmmm.

 

 

Some questions are better left unanswered.

 

So, I got my Droid, and I really didn’t have time to putter around with it until today. Last night, there was an issue, and I had to reset it (thanks to @rantpittsburgh for her help via Twitter). I’ve been setting up apps. Been playing around, asking questions, figuring out how certain things will be useful and how certain things wouldn’t be.

And slowly, ideas are sneaking in.

Wait, maybe there are some cool things about this phone. Maybe it IS different, and not just in “Oh hey, my phone makes lightsaber noises when I wave it around” kind of way.

 

Simple, but filling

 

Like the versatility.

Oh the versatility!

And right now, it’s the simple things that I love about it. Like being able to listen to the radio when I was raking leaves this afternoon. But when I took a break, I could check Facebook, Twitter and my e-mail.

I even uploaded photos from the Blackberry to my Droid to Photobucket, and used them in this blog entry. Even though they’ve sat in the Blackberry for like a 1.5 years or more.

Oh, there could be some serious shenanigans afoot in the near future as the wheels begin to turn …

Strike that … there will be shenanigans. Oh yes, I think that’s a certainty.

7 Responses to “Lemming”


  1. 1 Jenny
    October 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Hey, that lampshade looks familiar! That was a great night. And I don’t know what is in that dish, but it looks yummy. [i’m sure it has meat involved, too.]

  2. October 21, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I ditched my BlackBerry for the Droid X about 3 weeks ago. I’m really digging the phone thus far even though I am slow to add new apps. For whatever reason I always need to ease into things.

  3. October 22, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Why the Droid X over the Droid 2? And which Best Buy did you go to? My family is planning to defect from the apple/att team VERY soon. Like maybe tomorrow. Contract is up, WOOT!

    • October 22, 2010 at 9:32 am

      It’s essentially the same phone. Droid X has a bigger screen, and can video in HD and has 8 mgapixel camera. Droid 2 can’t video, has a 5 mgpixel camera, and is smaller. For me, the choice ended up coming down to the X or the Incredible, with the X winning out because A) I don’t mind the size B.) Would rather have more features than less features (Incredible can’t video).

      And they should do the price matching at any Best Buy. (Friend upgraded his phone at one near him, and they price matched.)

      • October 22, 2010 at 10:19 pm

        Thanks! Sounds like the X is more in line with what we’re looking for too (re: the video.) The only thing I’ve heard that I don’t love about the Droid is that apparently their camera is not as good at the iphone4. But I’m pretty sure its going to be WAY better than my iphone3G. I’m going to try Best Buy at the Waterfront and hope they have helpful salespeople too. HA!

      • October 22, 2010 at 11:59 pm

        Well, the way I look at it is like this: If you want to take really super snappy photos, then you buy a super awesome camera. I took one pic with my phone — I was shaking a little bit (ok, drinking) — but it came out decently. So, I’ll be using it for bar photos or impromptu pics, but for anything important (weddings, nature walks, etc.), I’ll have a trusty camera.

        I’m sure that the Best Buy will price match (look at Wirefly, Amazon and NewEgg before you go to tell them who to price match) and be more helpful than some of the Vzn store folks (if they were anything like the ones around me). The big thing that Best Buy makes money on is the accessories. They have a $50 package available for case, screen shield and car charger. I bought all three separately from Amazon for $26 (including shipping), and I could have gone cheaper if I wanted to.

        Good luck, have fun and enjoy!

  4. October 22, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I’m in line with the lemmings just ahead of you. It’s not terrible here given that we can can pictures of odd things while we stand there.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,101 hits

