08
Nov
10

It all makes sense now

Recently, I ditched my HD cable feed. I know that this is shocking to some who know how much I loved having it … but when looking at the cost of it and how little I actually watch TV, I decided it was something that could go.

In its place, I got rabbit ears to bring in the broadcast HD for Steelers games, and I subscribed to Netflix.

Now, Netflix has brought me a ton of enjoyment. The instant streaming to my PS3 and on to my HDTV is pure awesomeness. Tons of old TV shows that I loved are accessible. Tons of new ones that I missed are there, too. That’s on top of all those movies that I’ve been meaning to see but never got around to it.

One of the shows I stumbled across is the wonderfully awful and cheesy “Buck Rogers” from 1979-80. Now, Buck Rogers is one of the shows I really remember from my childhood. I mean, sure, I watched shows like “Space 1999” and the original “BattleStar Galactica,” but neither of them stuck like Buck Rogers did. Twiki, Dr. Theopolis, Erin Gray, Hawk, the various ships … I remember drawing huge space battles between the Draconian fighters and the Earth Defense Force ones (and I could always draw the Draconian ships better). I had models for both, and in the epic battles in the living room of my grandma’s house, the Draconians always seemed to win. For the time, I’m sure the effects were staggeringly good (despite occasionally using footage of the wrong ships), and I must admit, I’m totally enthralled again with the show.

Metal bikini AND grand poo-bah hat!

But this time, I’m watching it as an adult.

And all I can say is, “Holy. Balls.”

Now I get why this show lasted as long as it did. It wasn’t the cheesy writing. Not the gripping special effects. It wasn’t Mel Blanc being the voice of Twiki.

No doubt about it: it was the space girls.

I mean, yeah, part of sci-fi’s draw is hot space chicks. Princess Leia as Jabba’s slave was hot, no doubt about it. But the Buck Rogers girls put her to shame, no matter how iconic she is. Buck Rogers didn’t need no metal bikinis …

OK, maybe one. Or two.

(And you can’t deny Princess Ardala’s hotness despite the ridiculousness of her get up. Metal bikini, horned hat … cape … the dance scene that this picture is from is hilarious.)

But I mean, Erin Gray certainly didn’t need the metal bikini. She wore skin tight uniforms all the time. And I know that made an impression on all of us boys at the time, because any time you bring up Buck Rogers, the first thing most geeks my age will say is, “Erin Gray is fucking HOT.”

Imagine her running in this outfit, cause she does it. A lot.

And don’t forget guest stars.

Now, see, I didn’t remember any guest stars, because why would I? I was all about epic space fights, Hawk’s ship having claws and wondering why I couldn’t stop staring at Erin Gray.

There’s just so many faces I recognize. Roddy McDowell. Jack Palance. Apparently, even Gary Coleman makes an appearance later on. Part of the fun of watching these again is seeing these actors making appearances, and just sitting back and laughing.

But then, imagine my surprise yesterday when I see Markie Post’s name in the opening credits in Episodes 4 and 5.

Again, all I can say: Holy. Balls.

Buck, how the hell you pawned her off on Twiki is beyond me. I mean, yeah, New Chicago was in trouble and 10 million people were going to die, but still … look at her! If she doesn’t warm you up after being frozen for 500 years, I don’t know what will!

So not only do I finally understand how this show was so popular … but I also get why I loved it (and sci-fi in general) so much.

Not only did shows like this spark my dreams of traveling through space, having a laser pistol and visiting cool new species in my space fighter … but I think it also sparked my interest in girls, and gave me the idea that maybe there was some sort of use for them after all.

3 Responses to “It all makes sense now”


  1. November 8, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Holy god I fucking loved that show. I have Netflix and I had no idea it was on there. THANKS MAN! -Christine Cavalier

  2. November 8, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    If I recall correctly Judy Newmar appears in an episode (original cat woman) and a very young Jamie Lee Curtis is an a couple as well.

    • November 8, 2010 at 4:24 pm

      Dude, cannot WAIT to hit those episodes!


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Top Posts

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,101 hits

