15
Jan
11

Among the Normies

So, as I mentioned in my last blog entry weeks ago, life has changed. When I switched jobs, not only did my career change, but my hours have changed as well.

And this change hasn’t been easy for me, which is why I haven’t been blogging recently.

See, for the vast majority of my career, I’ve worked nights. We’re talking nights for the 6.5 years in South Florida, and nights for the 11 years that I’ve been at for my current company. But now I’m in training at my new job … training that can only be done during the day. So for the first time since college, I’m working 9-to-5, with weekends off.

Now, most people don’t get working at night, but I love it. Working at night, I pretty much wake up when I want, take care of whatever business is on my agenda, work my 8 hours (not fighting rush hour traffic) and usually fall asleep about an hour after I get home. Simple. Never have to take a day off to go to the dentist or get car work done … that’s just your afternoon, you know?

But this “normal” schedule … I don’t get it. It just seems so … I dunno … “crowded.” Morning traffic is aggravating as the drivers all seem to be impossibly bad. Evening traffic is worse because those same bad drivers are now in a hurry to get home. And once I get home, eat, and sit down for a second … I’m out cold by 7pm.

Now, normie friends tell me that this is all quite normal, which is completely baffling to me — baffling in the sense of “Why in God’s name would you want this schedule?”

See, when I’m working nights, I feel like I have time for myself — which usually comes at the expense of night-time TV. You remember that whole “Friends” craze of the ’90s? Think I’ve seen 3 episodes of it, and I have no clue as to how it captivated audiences. “Seinfeld”? Same thing. Couldn’t stand it. “LOST”? Enjoyable to watch with my friends, but not something I would watch on my own. Monday night football? Only care if the Steelers are playing. Hockey games? Only care when it’s the playoffs.

But with Hulu and all kinds of other media sites, even this trade-off isn’t a big deal anymore.

What I get in return? My afternoons. You know those days when you’re stuck behind a desk in a cubicle and you step outside for a break and it’s JUST PERFECT outside and you don’t want to go back in? Yeah, I’m out enjoying that. I go mountain biking. Or I go hiking. Or I’m doing work outside the house, which is still much better than doing work in an office.

I can go shopping and not have to fight mobs of people who are in a rush to get home to watch “Seinfeld.” (Or whatever it is you normies are watching nowadays.)

Normie friends assure me that this all gets better in spring and summer when there’s more light out, but in truth, I’ll never know.

I’ll be back on nights in March, and I’ll be happy in my less-crowded world once again.

1 Response to “Among the Normies”


  1. January 17, 2011 at 11:40 am

    When I worked at Disney World, I worked 3pm to midnight. It. was. glorious. I don’t know that I’d be a fan now that I have a short person who isn’t a fan of sleep, but those days of staying up until 3am playing Nintendo 64 and running errands in the early afternoon while everybody was at work were glorious.


Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,076 hits

