22
Jan
13

Week 3: When the going gets tough

Week 3 has basically come and gone. I normally start one of these posts early on and add/edit as I go. This week, no such luck.

But I did start going to the gym this week. I did everything light, mainly to avoid straining tendons and injuring myself. I only got 1 class of yoga in, and opted to start spinning this upcoming week. With Week 4, I start going heavier with the weights.

Since I’m short on time, let’s just get to it, shall we?

Week 3. Here’s my thoughts going into it:

EXPECTATIONS: I know there was no way I was gonna drop another 5 lbs. At some point the body adapts and dramatic drops go away. I figured I’d end up around 206ish.

Also, I realize that this is where my body will start to hit more of the visceral fat, and the only way that goes is with proper diet and exercise. Rome wasn’t built in a day, and I certainly didn’t become fat overnight. This will take time. When it comes to making a big change, patience is indeed a virtue.

CHEATS: Oh, there was a lot of cheating this time … mainly, some Christmas candy that I found as I was putting away my Christmas decorations. Also some other assorted stuff … but no bread or rice or dairy … just some sugar and some wheat flour. Eh, I could accept it.

The thing I find I have a problem with is “the old food” that is still lingering in the house. In the paleo book, the author is all “Just throw it out!” Well, I can’t. I can give the boxed/packaged stuff to a food bank, but that opened container of breaded chicken fingers? The opened bag of ravioli? Can’t do it — it’s against my nature. So, I will have cheats until they are used up or on pawn them off on to someone else. I accept it.

OBSERVATIONS: Still feeling really good. I can see a noticeable difference in my gut, as in I’m definitely becoming leaner. I bought a new pair of jeans a size smaller than I have been wearing when I started this, and I was able to fit in them without sucking in my gut. In fact, when I started this adventure, I couldn’t even button the same size pants that I had in the closet. So to be able to wear the smaller size comfortably … I’ll call that a win.

I sleep like a rock now. I have a fairly obnoxious ringtone when I get mail … and if I forget to turn my phone on “silent” and I get mail … guaranteed it would wake me up. It went off last night. I didn’t hear a thing.

RESULTS: 206.2. This is probably a trend that will continue … 1 or 2 lbs a week, or even a gain here and there, followed by a drop. Not concerned.

OVERALL: “When the going gets tough, the the tough get going.” That’s where I’m at right now. It’s really easy to get discouraged when the scale doesn’t go like you’d expect it to. However, with my pants size going down, I am still just as eager to continue the paleo lifestyle as I was in the beginning.

In fact, I’m fairly certain I’m going to extend this through February, just to see where it all goes.

0 Responses to “Week 3: When the going gets tough”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow me, Twittering fools!

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,029 hits

